Home > Frames of my Life in the Press > It’s All About Decisions!

It’s All About Decisions!

I’ve been blogging since February 2012, but I have  never wanted to share my personal life experience on my blog, so i dedicated it  to the cinema industry. Now I feel like I have to publish my 3 years of experiences in a blog post aside from the about section.

I graduated in 2011 with a cinema direction and production degree and i thought it was very easy to kick off in this industry and start making millions exactly like Hollywood directors and producers. however , it was a dream… Since this industry is half dead in Lebanon, directors and producers always need to beg for money from production companies abroad or get sponsorship after many “free” freelance projects in documentaries and short films production. i gave up on my degree and my dreams  and passions.. Once a  friend of mine  called Fadi said that Jessica can make her dreams come true and  she only needs a chance.

For a girl living in Bekaa and has to move to Beirut, i need fixed income, so i couldn’t keep on doing what i was doing.

In October 2013, i started a new job as community manager in an advertising agency. I got this job because I am really active on my personal twitter account. At this company, i started exploring by myself what is like  being a full time employee in a really gloomy office. I lived many experiences in this company, but i survived. i met many people; some of them are still my friends and others aren’t anymore. they are people  that I used to know. I met different clients virtually. I have lived happy and sad moments at that gloomy office which lacks windows.. and After 11 months, i decided to resign. Well my resignation came at the right time because i reach  a stage where routine is killing me. i am not motivated any more.  every morning i had this   nightmare going to work jut like blue Mondays.

Working in social media is so much fun and everyone is enjoying it everywhere in the world except me in this advertising company. My ex-boss might be reading this blog post now, hey ex-boss i am not attacking your company. i am just describing all the phases that i have gone  through since October 2013.

I resigned in August, planing for the post- resignation ,A new opportunity and challenge arose, so i was like: ” Let’s do this!” and since day 1, I started experiencing the magic in the new opportunity. I knew that i was dead; i was exactly like a robot doing daily tasks without love, passion or motivation. I knew that i was living in an environment full of negativity. I am HAPPY again! September 1, 2014 , I wake up every morning with a deep breath and big smile on my face .I do everything with love as i used to do  before October 2013. I am ALIVE again full of positive energy. That what i missed throughout all the 11 months.

Regarding My endless passion for Cinema, as i have been dreaming of the  day in which  I will be on one of the Film Festivals  red Carpet. It is never too late. Everything is possible in this life.

It is all about decisions! Happiness comes from within. We make ourselves either happy or miserable.

  1. September 8, 2014 at 11:14 am

    i m really happy for you dear hope your new boss reads this and keeps you in a positive place🙂

  2. September 8, 2014 at 11:16 am

    good luck Jessica.
    hope your new job lasts a lifetime…
    michel
    ExBoss🙂

    • September 8, 2014 at 11:53 am

      Thank you Michel.
      The aim of this blog post is to share my work experience after graduation. You already know how much I love you and respect you and we were friends more than a boss and his employee.
      Thank you for the 11 months experience I learned a lot and I met new people but it’s time to move on! Thank you for you support in everything I am really grateful and I appreciate it!

  3. September 16, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    I am sure the day will come.. you are awesome and so will be your destiny🙂 People who make money without talent only make money. I am sure you are not one among them. You will make enough money with flawless talent. Just keep going,! And sometime it is good to share your personal life. We can at least draw familiarity ( something something suffering in same boat stuff)

    • September 16, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      Thank you Tracy. I appreciate your sweet words!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

